Current Press Releases

Nov 21, 2012


Back ][ Current Press Releases Home ][ Next ]

Shawn Juers
Permitting and Compliancence


Montana Open Burning Season Ends November 30, 2012


The fall open burning season ends on November 30, 2012. No open burning is allowed in the Western Montana Burn Zone until March 1, 2013, unless specific permission is obtained from the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). The Western Montana Burn Zone includes the following Counties: Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Lewis and Clark, Ravalli, Granite, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, and that portion south of I-90 in Park.

Open burning sources located in the Eastern Montana Open Burning Zone who wish to conduct open burning during the winter months must notify the DEQ by telephone prior to ignition at (406) 444-3490.

Residents of Lewis and Clark, Yellowstone, Flathead, Missoula, Lincoln, and Cascade counties and all Indian reservations should contact their local air quality agency to understand local level air quality related open burning rules.

For more information, please visit the DEQ’s Open Burning Website at

### END ###